Hans Günther Kersten, Director General


Tel: + 41 43 211 65 00




FIATA Announces Regional Winners of FIATA Young Freight Forwarders Award


26 July 2016 (Zurich) – FIATA proudly announces the four Young International Freight Forwarder of the Year Award 2016 Regional Winners. Sponsored by FIATA and TT Club, this training and development award is now in its eighteenth year. With this award FIATA takes important steps toward identifying, recognising and encouraging young talent throughout the freight forwarding community around the world.

The four regional finalists, selected this year from among a record 27 entries representing national forwarding associations are:


Region Africa/Middle East :     Lorraine Zhou, Zimbabwe

Region Americas :                     Evgeny Kapustin, Canada

Region Asia/Pacific :                 Shanon Gould, Australia

Region Europe :                         Kostiantyn Hapii, Ukraine


The entries this year were, as in previous years, of a high standard and drew from a wide range of dissertation topics. The work of the entrants demonstrated the complexity of processes carried out within the global supply chain and the logistics skills required to serve it.

Among the diverse subjects covered by the dissertations prepared by this year's entrants are the shipping of cotton bales; the challenges of transporting tyres and turbines and the solution to moving a 40’ tall fire breathing dinosaur robot across continents.

The regional finalists will travel to FIATA's World Conference in Dublin, Ireland (3rd – 7th October, 2016) in order to present their dissertations to the judging panel and for the eventual announcement of the International Award winner.

The prize to be awarded to the winner principally consists of practical and academic training, including a week based at one of TT Club's regional centres in London, Hong Kong or New Jersey plus a week in TT Club’s Head Office in London. Additionally, one year's subscription to the International Transport Journal (ITZ), Switzerland is granted to all four regional winners.

Mike Yarwood, TT Club’s Claims Executive and Chairman of the Award Steering Committee, commented, "This award aims to contribute to the development of quality professionals in the freight forwarding industry, while supporting young talent with valuable training.  At TT Club, we are proud to have been a sponsor of the award since its inception and firmly believe in the importance of nurturing the talents and enhancing the skills of young individuals in freight forwarding."

Thomas Sim, Chairman of FIATA’s Advisory Body Vocational Training, commented that the award begins a new chapter in the lives of all regional winners as it will foster their career development and empower young professionals.  FIATA looks forward to welcoming all four regional winners in Dublin and strengthen the linkages with young logistics professionals.


Media Contact:

Hans Günther Kersten, Director General




FIATA, the International Federation of Freight Forwarders Associations, was founded in Vienna, Austria on May 31st 1926.  It is a non-governmental organisation that today represents an industry covering approximately 40,000 forwarding and logistics firms, employing around 10 million people in some 160 countries. FIATA has consultative status with the Economic and Social Council (ECOSOC) of the United Nations (inter alia ECE, ESCAP, ESCWA, etc.), the United Nations Conference on Trade and Development (UNCTAD), and the UN Commission on International Trade Law (UNCITRAL) as well as many other UN related bodies, e.g. the World Bank. It is recognised as representing the freight forwarding industry by many other governmental organisations, governmental authorities, private international organisations in the field of transport and logistics, such as the European Commission (through CLECAT), the International Chamber of Commerce (ICC), the International Air Transport Association (IATA), the International Union of Railways (UIC), the International Road Transport Union (IRU), the World Customs Organization (WCO), the World Trade Organization (WTO), etc.


For further information, please go to:


Glattbrugg, 26 July 2016

  • Home

Choose your language: